I can’t tell you how excited I’ve been re-exploring the garden after the snow melted. This weekend in particular so many things are springing into life. This is our first spring in the garden so there are allsorts of hidden surprises we missed last year, only moving in the July. We have stunning displays of snowdrops at the base of the hedges and huge clumps of daffodils, bluebells and I think probably hyacinthes and tulips are popping up all over the place. You have to be careful where you step for fear of tromping on them, especially as all our wellies have double to footprint due to all the mud!

Snowdrops

Snowdrops

Of course the downside is that I am slowly being reminded of the battle we are going to have with the weeds. The ground elder was horrendous last year and I can already see the fresh leaves starting to emerge. I pretty much ignored it last year and I’m sure will pay the price this year – if anyone knows any brilliant ways to get shot if it then please let me know!

